Weeding

IMG_0387

We spent the afternoon with a dear friend and her two little darlings. We swam, laughed and snacked. It was a fantastic day. I cherish moments like today, when I can be my complete self. You realize through different experiences in life and with different people, that you cannot always be your true self. I feel a great sense of gratitude to find such people. It really made me reflect on struggles that I face daily, regarding expectations that I hold for people. I make a conscience effort to remember that things that people do and say are not ever about me, but about their own perception, experience and feelings. That doesn’t make their actions “wrong”, it just makes their actions “theirs” and not mine. My opinions matter to me. And those that love me and respect me honor them, even if they don’t always agree with them. Every relationship is a two-way street, where both parties need to participate and put forth the effort if you want that relationship to grow and prosper. I know this stands true for marriage, but it is also true for friendships. Friends come in all different shapes and sizes. Some you see daily, some you see yearly and you can you pick up right where you left off. Some you talk to daily. Some you don’t. Some share your past and others will be formed in the future. It does not make one more valuable than the other, it just makes them fit for you. There are some I go to for everything, good, bad and ugly. Some are uplifting. Some are pure supporters. Some give spiritual guidance and reassurance. Some send strength. But each of them holds a special place in my heart and in my life and I thank God for all of them. But most of all I thank them for being them, their true selves with me. I thank them for the quality they provide to my life. The vulnerable. The unsure. The tried. The beautiful. The ugly. The positive. The scared. All of these things solidify and build solid friendships. Things in life get crazy, people get busy. We have kids and jobs and responsibilities. But we always find time for each other. We always ask. We always love. We always care. And our actions express that along with our words. I found this pin on pinterest that struck a cord in my heart…Invest In People Who Invest In You. (Thank you, to TheAllisonShow.com for your insight and help with my struggle). Cherish, love and nurture your garden and then ever so gently, remove the weeds. Thisisourlifeinterrupted…


Leave a comment